That a 1980s contemporary house in Buckhead would be renovated instead of razed is notable, perhaps signaling a growing enthusiasm for the style in the city.

It was with that energy that Atlanta Magazine’s HOME displayed its second annual Modern Style showhouse in June, joining in on the reimagination of a contemporary gem.

The Buckhead house was originally designed in 1987 by architect Larry Farrow as a home for his family. Farrow is a cofounder of GreenbergFarrow, a global architecture firm that designed the first Home Depot stores. The Farrow family moved out in 2003, and the house went through a long period of vacancy before the current owners purchased it with a plan to inject new life.

Rodolfo Castro, creative director of Castro Design Studio, was enlisted as the residential designer, with Emily and Steve Tate of Tate Builders & Associates as contractors. Castro’s plan aimed to honor the original architecture while adapting it to today’s living.

“This home was high design when it was built,” says Castro. “It’s great that the owners chose to revive this jewel.”



Castro opened up the floor plan, creating generous kitchen and dining areas. He also designed an addition for a bedroom suite and laundry room, and renovated a study and master suite, allowing for large bathrooms and ample closets and storage.

The interior design, featuring clean modern lines and warm accents, was led by Julie Witzel of J. Witzel Interior Design. Throughout the house, Witzel selected lighting, flooring, stone, and more to keep a consistent look across the rooms, which were decorated by 12 different design teams.

Witzel also added her signature to the decor in the conjoined living and dining rooms, and worked with Kingdom Woodworks on the kitchen and breakfast room, bathrooms, and laundry rooms.

Bedrooms spanned styles, with GraysonHarris creating an electric blue, high-contrast master; Mallori Hamilton designing a warm, mellow guest suite; Justin Q. Williams making a cozy, big-impact nest; and Beth Kooby Sobbott dreaming up a boho teenage retreat. Roche Bobois’ funky sitting room burst with bright color with Kenzo Takada’s Mah Jong sofa, while Katja Lauterbach’s study was a lesson in restraint. Kerry Jemison Weinheimer and Leah Alexander created relaxed powder rooms, and Kolo Collection assembled a bright, avant-garde selection of outdoor furniture to grace the showpiece: an original, angular pool.

ResourcesResidential designer Rodolfo Castro, Castro Design Studio, castrodesignstudio.comLead designer Julie Witzel, J. Witzel Interior Design, jwitzeldesign.comBuilder Tate Builders & Associates, tatebuildersinc.comLiving room Interior design: Julie Witzel, J.Witzel Interior Design, jwitzeldesign.com. Rug: Keivan Woven Arts, keivanwovenarts.com. Sofa: A. Rudin, Paul Plus, ADAC, paulplusatlanta.com. Arc lounge chair: Skylar Morgan Furniture + Design, skylarmorganfurniture.com. Coffee table: E.M. Soberon, Showroom 58, ADAC, showroomfiftyeight.com. Floor lamp: Robert Kuo, Jim Thompson Atlanta, ADAC, robertkuo.com. Bookcase: Roche Bobois, roche-bobois.com. Bench: O’Hara Studio, Paul Plus. Chandelier: Stickbulb, YLighting, ylighting.com. Window treatments: J. Lass & Company, jlassandcompany.com. Paintings: DK Contemporary Gallery, dkgallery.com. Honeycomb turned wood vessel and earthenware: the Signature Shop and Gallery, thesignatureshop.com. Other turned wood bowls: Alexander Designs, alexanderdesigns.us. Sculpture: Jerry Pair, ADAC, jerrypair.com. Botanicals: Jennifer Rust Botanicals, jenniferrustbotanicals.com. Fireplace: Fire Rock, firerock.us.Dining room Interior design: J.Witzel Interior Design. Rug: Keivan Woven Arts. Table: Skylar Morgan Furniture + Design. Sideboard: Skylar Morgan Furniture + Design. Chairs: Donghia, ADAC, donghia.com. Chandelier: Global Lighting Karman, Illuminations, illumco.com. Statues: Corbin Bronze, Jerry Pair. Centerpiece: Ron Dier, Jerry Pair.Kitchen Design: Marcel Olariu, Kingdom Woodworks, kingdomwoodworks.com. Appliances: Sub-Zero, Wolf, and Cove, subzero-wolf.com. Pendants: Circa Lighting, circalighting.com. Countertop: Silestone by Cosentino, CR Home, constructionresourcesusa.com. Bar stools: Arteriors, arteriorshome.com.Breakfast room Interior design: J. Witzel Interior Design and Kingdom Woodworks. Table: Skylar Morgan Furniture + Design. Chairs: Roche Bobois. Chandelier: Circa Lighting. Window treatments: The Shade Store, theshadestore.com.Master bedroom Interior design: Robert Grayson and Andrew Harris, GraysonHarris Interiors + Design, graysonharrisid.com. Large rug: Loloi, loloirugs.com. Bedding and headboard fabric: National Nonwovens, nationalnonwovens.com. Bedding upholstery: Bjork Studio, bjorkstudio.com. Small rug: Maharam, maharam.com. Chairs and chandelier: Ironies, Jerry Pair. Bedside lamps: Artemide, artemide.net. Side table: Caracole, caracole.com. Acrylic on panel artwork and sculpture: Marcia Wood Gallery, marciawoodgallery.com. Eye vase and paperweight: Rosse and Associates, AmericasMart, rosseandassociates.com.Master bath Decor: GraysonHarris Interiors + Design. Cabinetry: Kingdom Woodworks. Tile and stone: CR Home. Plumbing: Atlanta Noland, atlantanoland.com. Tiger sculpture: Marcia Wood Gallery. Large-scale paintings: Lagerquist Gallery, lagerquistgallery.net. Goose painting: Dawne Raulet, dawneraulet.com. Crystal and steel accessories: Rosse and Associates.Catwalk Grayson Harris Interiors + Design. Wall treatment: Kass Wilson, WallsTreat Studio, kasswilson.com. Sculpture: Jerry Pair.Meditation room (not pictured) Interior design: GraysonHarris Interiors + Design. Rug: Vintage Persian Rugs, vintagepersianrugs.com. Elephant stool: DômeDeco, domedeco.com.Sitting room Interior design: Michael Jeffrey, Roche Bobois. Mah Jong sofa, La Ligne floor lamp, Legend bookcase, Iron Tree tables, sideboard: Roche Bobois.Girl’s bedroom Interior design: Beth Kooby Sobbott, Beth Kooby Design, bethkoobydesign.com. Bed: Joshua Hardesty, Rogers Hardesty, rogers-hardesty.com. Leather tiles: AVO, avoavo.com. Window treatments: The Shade Store. Wallpaper panels: Phillip Jeffries, ADAC, phillipjeffries.com. Ceiling light: Kelly Wearstler, Circa Lighting. Rattan chair: 1st Dibs, 1stdibs.com. Chair upholstery: Kravet, ADAC, kravet.com. Lucite and vintage console: 1st Dibs. Record player: Crosley Radio, crosleyradio.com. Vintage coral lamp: R. Hughes, ADAC, r-hughes.com. Photographs: Christian Chaize, christianchaize.com. Pink pillow: West Elm, westelm.com. Chair pillow: Bradley, ADAC, bradleyusa.com. Wood side table: Dixon Rye, dixonrye.com. Bolster fabric: Schumacher, fschumacher.com. Duvet: the Citizenry, the-citizenry.com. Custom neon sign: Neon Collective, neoncollective.com.au.Side porch Interior design: Beth Kooby Design. Lounge chairs and sofa: Dedon, Kolo Collection, kolocollection.com. Upholstery: Mokum, Paul Plus. Large pillow: Dixon Rye. Smaller pillows: Crate & Barrel, crateandbarrel.com. Large planter: Lush Life, lushlifehomegarden.com. Cafe table and chairs, abstract planters: Vendom, Kolo Collection. Umbrella: Pottery Barn, potterybarn.com. Bar cart: Dixon Rye.Navy bedroom Justin Q. Williams, Trademark Design Co., trademarkdesignco.com. All furnishings and lighting: Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams, mgbwhome.com. Electrician: Handy Electrician, handyelectrician.com.New bedroom Interior design: Mallori Hamilton, the Specialty Studio, Wakefield Beasley Interiors, wbinteriorsinc.com. Custom bed, dresser, mirror: OSleeper Manufacturing Company, osleeper.com. Bolster pillows: Bjork Studio. Rug: Verde Home, verdehomeinc.com. Side chair: Hooker Furniture, Joel Robinson + Associates, AmericasMart, jraoffice.com. Side table: Design Within Reach, dwr.com. Wall sculpture, floor lamp, table lamps, graphic art, tabletop accessories: Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams.Adjacent bath Decor: Mallori Hamilton. Cabinetry: Kingdom Woodworks. Tile and stone: CR Home. Plumbing: Atlanta Noland. Paintings: Anita Martinez Fine Art, anitamartinezfineart.com. Rug: Room & Board, roomandboard.com. Accessories: CB2, cb2.com.Laundry room (not pictured) Wallpaper: Schumacher Hospitality, fschumacher.com.Master closet, secondary closet, pantry Custom design: the Container Store, thecontainerstore.com.Study Interior design: Katja Lauterbach, Duett Design, duettdesign.com. Audrey artwork: Srinjoy Gangopadhyay, deljouartgroup.com. Innovation C chair: Joel Robinson + Associates. Custom desk: B10 Union, b-10union.com. Custom shelving unit: Tylko, tylko.com. Floor lamp, side table, arm chair, planters, magazine rack: DômeDeco. Story bookcase: Design Within Reach. Rug: Nordic Knots, nordicknots.com. Greenery: plantz.com. Custom drapery: Jim Davis Designs, jimdavisdesigns.com. Drapery and pillow fabric: Romo Fabrics, ADAC, romo.com. Bench: Article, article.com. Chaise lounge: Regina Andrew, reginaandrew.com. Eames House Bird: Vitra, vitra.com. Kokeshi dolls: Lucie Kaas, luciekaas.com. Bud vases, Accent Decor, AmericasMart, accentdecor.com.Adjacent bath Decor: Duett Design. Cabinetry: Kingdom Woodworks. Tile and stone: CR Home. Plumbing: Atlanta Noland. Rug: Nordic Knots. Linens: Bovi Graccioza. Window treatments: Jim Davis Designs. Towel ladder: Umbra, umbra.com. Vase: Rosse & Associates. Dottie sheep: Joel Robinson + Associates.Pool deck Design: Greg Martin and Michelle Larrabee-Martin, Kolo Collection, kolocollection.com. Vondom lighting, furnishings, and all furniture and accessories: Kolo Collection.Mudroom Decor: Kerry Jemison Weinheimer, Jemison Design, jemisondesign.com. Cabinetry: Kingdom Woodworks. Countertop: Dekton by Cosentino, CR Home. Custom art: Murray Robinson, murrayrobinsonart.com. Coatracks, Vitra desk clock, felt baskets, star sculptures, wire basket: Design Within Reach. Dog accessories: Highland Pet Supply, highlandpet.com. Towels, tote, small accessories: Urban Cottage, urbancottageatlanta.com. Throw, scarf: JDouglas, AmericasMart, jdouglas.com. Air plant: Le Jardin Francais, lejardinfrancais.com. Potted arrangement: Jennifer Rust Botanicals.Powder room (not pictured) Decor: Jemison Design. Wallpaper: Hygge & West, hyggeandwest.com. Custom art: Jennifer McKinnon Richman, jennifermckinnon.com. Custom wood slats: Shawn Frizell and Luke Mount, 678-230-3454.Pool changing room Interior design: Leah Alexander, Beauty Is Abundant, leahalexander.info. Custom bench: Managed Millwork. Rug: Moattar, ADAC, moattar.com. Mirror, soap dish: Made Goods, ADAC, madegoods.com. Artwork: Stephen Shon, Shon Studio. Table: Interlude Home, AmericasMart, interludehome.com. Shelf decor: Redefined Home Boutique, redefinedhomeboutique.com. Candles: Diptyque, diptyqueparis.com.

Aluminum Curtain Wall Panel

Honeycomb Panel, Corrugation Panel, Aluminum Panel - Flashion,https://www.fs-material.com/